Interview with Tabitha Caplinger

bloodlineZoe thought the loss of her parents would be the most difficult thing she’d ever have to endure. When she began seeing things she couldn’t explain in her new home of Torchcreek, Virginia, she was sure the grief was driving her mad. Instead Zoe discovers she is part of an ancient bloodline, one destined to defeat the powers of darkness from condemning the world. But Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant, but the key to humanity’s salvation.

Tabitha Caplinger is the author of “Chronicle of the Three: Blood”, the first installment in a Christian Fantasy trilogy published by BlueInk Press and available on both Wattpad and Amazon. I recently had the opportunity to interview her.

What should readers expect from your book? 

There isn’t a lot of setup before jumping right into the thick of the bloodline and prophecy, but I like that. I like getting to know the characters through the emotions of the moment. It feels real to me because in life we meet people and don’t have all the details of their history straight away. This is how you meet Zoe and Claire and the others and you get to know them and their past as you go. In the background of this fiction of descendants and destiny is a thread of faith and hope that can defeat any darkness.

Sounds fast paced. That’s good. Could you tell us a little about the development of the story? How did the idea originate? 

Really the story was just something that popped in my head. Like a dream I had and started putting on paper. It was nothing that felt really magical, but yet it was enough to propel me to write it. I thought of this character basically, it started with Claire, and then asked myself what would she do if? Then add in Zoe and more questions like that.

Which character in the story was your personal favorite?
Oh, that’s a hard one. I love them all for different reasons. But if I had to choose just one I would have to say Maggie. She just knows how to bring joy into any situation.

Realistically, how long did your story take you to brainstorm, write, rewrite, edit and sell to a publisher?

Well, it was about 2 years of imagining and outlining to get it to the point that I felt it was ready to go to a publisher. Then in the middle of that process, I did a complete revision and started sending it again. So in total, not counting the editing once it got to the publisher, about two and a half years. Give or take a couple months.

tabSo the questions every aspiring Author wants to know: How many times did you submit your manuscript before you were accepted?  Did you, or did you not, use a literary agent?  Thoughts on the process?

To get the basics out of the way. I submitted to at least 50 publishers and agents and I did not use a literary agent. To be honest I kind of hate the process. You feel very vulnerable. Every time I hit send on an email it was like I was putting a piece of myself out there to be accepted or rejected, mostly rejected. However, I think that is really a blessing in disguise. Putting your story out there to readers also makes you vulnerable. Not everyone will like it, and some of those people will write bad reviews about it. Learning to handle the rejection without taking it personally through the publishing process will hopefully keep me from curling into a ball crying when that inevitable less than stellar review comes around.

If you could give an aspiring author 1 piece of advice, what would it be?

Don’t give up.

chosenCould you tell us a little about #LiveChosen?

Besides a wife, mom and author I am a student pastor. My husband and I have been in youth ministry for 15 years. I love connecting with young women and encouraging them in their faith as well as helping them to grow into the women God has created them to be, to find their purpose and live it on purpose. #LiveChosen came from that. So I share videos twice a month on topics that I think will help young women, and guys too, grow in their faith and walk in their purpose. It does have subtle tie-ins to my trilogy (use of chosen for one). Mostly i touch base on some of the same Christian themes that can be found between the lines of Bloodline and beyond. Besides the videos I also have a devotional companion to Bloodline titled Daughters Arise which is also on Wattpad. It takes excerpts from the book and then ties them to Biblical truth.

Do you have any favorite Christian authors you admire and look up to?

As far as other authors I love CS Lewis and am currently finishing The Screwtape Letters. I also love Tolkien and LOTR. I haven’t read many christian authors beyond them. I am about to start a Ted Dekker/Tosca Lee series The book of Mortals and I am interested in Tosca’s new release The Progeny, the sneak peeks have been very cool.

Have you already started on your next book?  Give us a tiny pitch…

The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline is just the first installment in a trilogy so I am already moving along with the next two books. The second in the series will pick us up a few months along. We start to go a little deeper into Claire’s past as the enemy picks up his intensity.

What does your average writing day look like?

I sit in my pajamas on my couch while my three year old becomes a small toy tornado around me. If I’m lucky I get a few hundred words in before my laptop battery dies. The key for me is to just be intentional about it. I try to write some everyday, either before or after helping my husband with our pastor stuff. And I don’t judge myself too harshly if it was just a couple of sentences or get too excited if it was a whole chapter.

You can preview the book here on Amazon

Connect with Tabitha online:

Facebook: Tabitha Caplinger

Twitter: @pastortabitha

Wattpad: @pastortabitha

http://www.tabithacaplinger.com

Visit Tabitha Caplinger on Goodreads

One thought on “Interview with Tabitha Caplinger

  1. I guess I am a little bias because Tabitha is my daughter, however, I am amazed at how talented, committed to God and family, and the work she does each week. Not only is she an ordained minister, assist her husband in youth ministry, a mom of two active young girls, she finds time to mentor young women, plus other work in their church. author this book that truly shows her creative mind, and she can cook too, 🙂 :). She has always shown her passion for God and puts Him first. I believe that is the reason she is able to accomplish all she does. I can say, I am one proud mom!

Leave a Reply

